Awards and Honors


Awards Update

All award nomination deadlines are now open! Please see below for deadlines.  

One of the highlights of every Annual Convention is the opportunity for NCNA to recognize some of the best nurses and nursing advocates from across North Carolina. We have multiple awards and categories, with strict criteria ensuring that we only bestow honors on the most exceptional of nominees.


NCNA Hall of Fame

The NCNA Hall of Fame Award is intended to be the pinnacle of recognition for a Registered Nurse with an extensive history of nursing leadership and achievements in North Carolina. Nominees for this prestigious award may be living or deceased.
Go here for information on the NCNA Hall of Fame Award.
Deadline: July 15, 2021.

NCNA Nurse of the Year Award

These awards recognize nurses who exemplify the idea of Nursing Forward® in a variety of workplace environments including Administration, Education, Health Systems, Practice, and Research. Members can nominate colleagues or self-nominate.
Go here for information on the NCNA Nurse of the Year Award.
Deadline: July 15, 2021


NCNA Board of Directors Awards

While these awards are given by the NCNA Board of Directors, members can actually nominate individuals for consideration. Awards include: Outstanding Service, Rookie of the Year, Joanne S. Stevens Political/Legislative Nurse of the Year Award, Mentorship in Nursing, Certificate of Commendation, The Frances Newsom Miller Award, Legislator of the Year Award and Benefactor of the Year Award.
2021 nominations are now closed.


Best Practice Awards

NCNA is interested in examples of Best Practices that demonstrate nurses’ ability to meet and exceed these 3 caring dimensions. The vision is for NCNA to serve as a clearinghouse of these best practices where nursing colleagues can come and learn more about these caring strategies that are being implemented in the various organizations and then adopt them in their own workplaces. Please submit your strategies for Best Practice in one “Caring Dimension”:

  • Caring for Others
  • Caring for Each Other
  • Caring for Ourselves

Go here for information on the Best Practice Awards.
Deadline: July 15, 2021